The mission of the Nebraska Department of Justice Victim Assistance Program is to mitigate the impact of crime on the lives of victims by enhancing victim services statewide, promoting victims' rights, and providing access to information and resources in a compassionate and dedicated manner.
The Victim Assistance Program provides information, referrals, assistance, and personal and criminal justice related advocacy to victims of crime across the State of Nebraska who have suffered physical, sexual, financial, or emotional harm as a result of the commission of a violent crime.
Victim Assistance Resources
Victim's Rights in Nebraska
In the State of Nebraska, victims of crime have a constitutional right to be treated with fairness, dignity, and respect; and to be free from intimidation, harassment, or abuse throughout the criminal justice process (see Amended Section 81-1848, Revised Statutes Reissue, 1981).
Victims have the right to:
- Be notified of scheduled court dates and other proceedings.
- Be informed about financial assistance and other social services available as a result of being a witness to or victim of a crime, including information on how to apply for assistance and services.
- Be provided, whenever possible, a secure waiting area during court proceedings that does not require close proximity to defendants, their families, or friends.
- Have property expeditiously returned by law enforcement when it is no longer needed as evidence.
- Make a written or oral impact statement at a sentencing proceedings, Board of Parole, pardon or commutation hearing, or for use in a probation presentence investigation report.
- Be entitled to a speedy disposition of the case in which they are involved in as a victim or a witness.
- Be informed by local law enforcement agencies and the County Attorney on the status and final disposition of the case.
- Be provided appropriate employer intercession services to insure that employers cooperate with the criminal justice process in order to minimize loss of pay and other benefits resulting from court appearances.
- Have family members of all homicide victims afforded all of the rights of this Act.
Crime Victims Compensation
The Nebraska Crime Victim's Reparations Act, created in 1979 with the passage of Legislative Bill (LB) 910, provides compensation to innocent victims of a crime for certain expenses related to the criminal act.
Only expenses incurred as a direct result of the crime may be considered for reimbursement. Medical and funeral expenses, loss of wages, loss of earning power, mental health counseling directly related to the criminal act, and residential crime scene clean-up are eligible for possible compensation. Loss of property and pain and suffering do not qualify for reimbursement. Eligible claims are reduced by any insurance, sick leave pay, workers’ compensation, unemployment benefits, etc. received. & A maximum of $25,000 per claim may be awarded and funds are limited.
For more information or to apply for benefits, please visit the Nebraska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice website at https://ncc.nebraska.gov/crime-victims-reparations
Victim Information and Notification Everyday (VINE)
The Nebraska VINE service monitors the custody status of adult inmates in all county jails and state prisons. Updated information is available 24 hours a day. VINE is a free anonymous service available in English and Spanish and is supported by 24-hour operator assistance. Registered victims are notified of:
- Offender release from custody for any reason
- Offender escape from custody
- Offender return to custody after escape
- Offender transfer to another facility
- Offender death
For more information, please visit the Nebraska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice website at https://ncc.nebraska.gov/victim-information-and-notification-everyday-vine
To register or search for an offender, please visit the VINE website at https://www.vinelink.com/vinelink/initMap.do. Click on the state where the offender is located and follow the prompts to search or register with the service.
The Nebraska Alliance of Child Advocacy Centers offer an innovative way of serving abused children through a comprehensive approach to services for victims and their families which include forensic interviewing, medical evaluations, advocacy and support, therapeutic intervention, case review and tracking. Nebraska's seven Child Advocacy Centers (CAC) seek to provide a culturally competent, multi-disciplinary response to allegations of child abuse in a dedicated, child-friendly setting.
For more information or to find your local program, please visit the Nebraska Alliance’s website at https://www.nebraskacacs.com/cac-information/cac-services.html or call (402) 933-7422.
Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault or Stalking
The Nebraska Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violence is a statewide advocacy organization committed to the prevention and elimination of sexual and domestic violence. They work to enhance safety and justice for victims of domestic violence and sexual assault by supporting and building upon the services provided by the network of local programs.
For more information or to find your local program, please visit the Coalition’s website at http://www.nebraskacoalition.org/get_help/help.html or call (402) 476-6256.
There are three types of protection orders in the State of Nebraska: domestic abuse, sexual assault, and harassment protection orders.
To learn about the difference between a domestic abuse, harassment, and a sexual assault protection order or to get more information about how to file a request for an order of protection, please visit the Nebraska Judicial Branch’s websites below.
For information about protection order requirements and processes, visit https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/self-help/protection-abuse/form-guide.
For information on how to complete the protection order forms, visit https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/forms.
Nebraska Address Confidentiality Program
The Address Confidentiality Program (ACP) provides services to residents of Nebraska who are victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking. Laws governing the ACP are found in Neb. Rev. Stat. §42-1201 through §42-1210. The program has two basic parts. First, the ACP provides victims who have moved to a new location, unknown to their abuser, with a substitute address for use when interacting with state and local agencies. Second, the program provides participants with a new mailing address which keeps their actual physical address confidential and free from the risk of discovery by third parties through public records since the public records contain only the new mailing address. The Secretary of State's Office will receive their mail and forward it to them at their actual physical address by means of a cost-free, first-class mail forwarding service.
For more information on the program or to apply, please contact the Secretary of State’s office at (402) 471-3568 or toll-free at (800) ACP-NEBR (800-227-6327). You may also visit their website at http://www.sos.ne.gov/business/acp_menu.html
Nebraska Sex Offender Registry
The Nebraska State Patrol is the agency responsible for maintaining the State sex offender registry. For more information about the registry, registration, and reporting requirements visit the Nebraska State Patrol’s website at https://sor.nebraska.gov/
Parole is a privilege granted to an offender that allows them to serve out a portion of his or her court-imposed sentence under the supervision of a Parole Officer in the community. In Nebraska, the Board of Parole is the body responsible for determining whether or not an offender is suitable for supervised release. Parole hearings are open to the public; anyone wishing to attend on behalf of, or in opposition to, an offender’s release on parole is welcome to attend.
For more information about the Board of Parole, the monthly hearing schedule, or how you can register to be notified of a specific offender’s hearing, please visit the Board's website at https://parole.nebraska.gov/victim-rights
Nebraska Department of Correctional Services
NDCS offers a Victim/Witness notification program for victims and witnesses of crime, as well as to family members and concerned citizens. NDCS can provide you with information regarding an incarcerated person serving their sentence when the following events occur:
- Placement in a Community Corrections Center
- For Furloughs Lasting 24 hrs or More (Only at Community Corrections Centers)
- Death of the Offender During Incarceration
- Escape From Custody/Return to Custody
- Parole Hearings, Release to Parole, Revocation of Parole
- Discharge or Other Release
To be informed of these changes and decisions, please complete the notification form here: https://corrections.nebraska.gov/public-information/victim-services/victim/witness-notification.
|Administrative Office of the Courts and Probation||(402) 471-2125|
|Nebraska Alliance of Child Advocacy Centers||(402) 933-7422|
|Nebraska Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violence||(402) 476-6256|
|Nebraska Department of Correctional Services Victim Services||(402) 479-5798|
|Nebraska Department of Justice Victim/Witness Assistance||(402) 471-2683|
|U.S. Attorney's Office Victim Assistance||(402) 661-3700|
|FBI Victim Assistance||(402) 530-1584 or (877) 727-1572|
|Nebraska Army/Air National Guard Sexual Assault Prevention & Response Program||(402) 309-8179 or (402) 525-0078|
Local Victim Assistance Programs
|Adams County Victim/Witness Unit||(402) 461-7242|
|Buffalo County Victim/Witness Unit||(308) 233-5263|
|Dakota County Victim/Witness Unit||(402) 494-7550|
|Butler/Polk Victim Assistance||(402) 367-7405 or (402) 367-7400|
|Colfax County Victim Assistance||(402) 352-8529|
|Dawson County Victim/Witness Unit||(308) 324-5702|
|Dodge County Victim Assistance||(402) 727-2795|
|Douglas County Victim Assistance||(402) 444-4597|
|Gage County Victim Assistance||(402) 223-4080|
|Grand Island Police Dept Victim Assistance||(308) 385-5409 or (308) 385-5400 Ext. 2210|
|Kearney Police Dept Victim Assistance||(308) 233-5263|
|Lincoln Police Dept Victim Assistance Unit||(402) 441-7181|
|Lincoln County Victim/Witness Unit||(308) 535-3520|
|Madison County Victim/Witness Unit||(402) 454-3311 Ext. 217|
|Platte County Victim Assistance||(402) 563-4971|
|Sarpy County Victim/Witness Unit||(402) 593-2201|
|Scottsbluff County Victim/Witness Unit||(308) 436-6674|
|Seward County Victim Advocacy Program||(402) 643-3056|
|South Sioux City Police Dept Victim/Witness Unit||(402) 494-7550|