

STATE OF NEBRASKA

Office of the Attorney General

2115 STATE CAPITOL BUILDING LINCOLN, NE 68509-8920 (402) 471-2682 TDD (402) 471-2682 CAPITOL FAX (402) 471-3297 1235 K ST. FAX (402) 471-4725

DON STENBERG ATTORNEY GENERAL

97057
NO. STATE OF NEBRASKA
OFFICIAL
OCT 29 1997

DEPT. OF JUSTICE

STEVE GRASZ LAURIE SMITH CAMP DEPUTY ATTORNEYS GENERAL

DATE:

October 28, 1997

SUBJECT:

1997 Neb. Laws LB 256; Confidentiality of Information Pertaining to Undercover License Plates; Disclosure of Such Information in Audit

Reports

REOUESTED BY:

John Breslow

Nebraska Auditor of Public Accounts

WRITTEN BY:

Don Stenberg, Attorney General

Dale A. Comer, Assistant Attorney General

1997 Neb. Laws LB 256 deals with the issuance of undercover license plates for motor vehicles operated by various law enforcement agencies and various other agencies of state and local government. The bill specifies what agencies are authorized to obtain the special license plates from the Department of Motor Vehicles, and the procedures for doing so. You state that you "have been asked to provide fairly basic information to the press on undercover license plates." In that regard, you then provided us with a draft of a document which lists the number of undercover plates issued to various state and local agencies in 1997 and in 1994. You pose two questions to us pertaining to the release of such information regarding undercover plates.

1. Release of Information Regarding Undercover Plates to the Press.

Your first question pertains to the release of information regarding undercover license plates to the press. You ask, "[m]ay

David K. Arterburn L. Jay Bartel J. Kirk Brown David T. Bydalek Dale A. Comer Suzanna Glover-Ettrich Royce N. Harper Lauren L. Hill Jay C. Hinsley Amy Hollenbeck William L. Howland Marilyn B. Hutchinson Kimberly A. Klein Jennifer S. Liliedahl Joseph P. Loudon Charles E. Lowe Lisa D. Martin-Price Lynn A. Melson Donald J. B. Miller Ronald D. Moravec Fredrick F. Neid Marie C. Pawol Paul N. Potadle Mark D. Raffety Carla Heathershaw Risko Hobert B. Rupe James D. Smith James H. Spears Mark D. Starr Martin Swanson David R. Tarvin, Jr. Timothy J. Texel John R. Thompson Barry Waid Terri M. Weeks Melanie J. Whittamore-Mantzios Linda L. Willard

ge The second			
; 			