
STATE OF NEBRASKA 

®ffirt of tltt Attnrnty <&tntral 

DON STENBERG 
ATTORNEY GENERAL 

DATE: May 1, 1992 

2115 STATE CAPITOL BUILDING 

LINCOLN, NEBRASKA 68509-8920 
(402) 471-2682 

FAX (402) 471 -3297 

WC)~Olol 
<!' 

' ·. - _-,~· n,.t_!>;r~S'f.A 

OrFH.:;iAL 
' 

:II!W 4 1992 

DEPT. Of JUSTIGI 

L. STEVEN GRASZ 

SAM GRIMMINGER 
DEPUTY ATTORNEYS GENERAL 

SUBJECT: Collection of Fees Upon Appraiser's Transfer From 
Transitional License Status to License Status 

REQUESTED BY: Marilyn Hasselbalch, Director 
Nebraska Real Estate Appraiser Board 

WRITTEN BY: Don Stenberg, Attorney General 
Jan E. Rempe, Assistant Attorney General 

The Nebraska Real Estate Appraiser Act ("Act"), Neb. Rev. 
Stat. SS 76-2201 to 76-2250 (Supp . 1991}, authorizes issuance of a 
transitional license to appraisers who meet the experience and 
testing requirements for licensure but have not met the educational 
requirements, and to appraisers who meet the educational and 
testing requirements for licensure but have not completed the 
experience requirements. § 76-2217.02. Transitional licenses are 
valid for one year, a period during which transitional licensees 
are to fulfill the educational or experience requirements they are 
lacking for full licensure. S 76-2230(3) & (4). The Act sets fees 
for all categories of licensure and specifically authorizes the 
Real Estate Appraiser Board ( "Board"} to collect a license 
application fee of $100; an initial license fee of $200 or less; a 
transitional license application fee of $100; and an initial 
transitional license fee of $200 or less. § 76-2241(8), (10), (15) 
& (17). 

You have requested our op~n~on regarding whether the Board is 
authorized to collect a license application fee and initial license 
fee from individuals who (1) have paid the transitional license 
application fee and initial transitional license fee; ( 2) have 
completed their educational or experience requirements before their 
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one-year transitional license has expired; and ( 3) desire to 
transfer from transitional license status to license status. 
Specifically, you have asked whether the one-year extension 
provided by S 76-2230(3) and (4) to complete licensure requirements 
implies that one may "roll over" from transitional license status 
to license status without completing a new application and paying 
additional fees. 

As indicated by the laws noted above,, there is a statutory 
distinction between a real estate appra~ser "license" and a 
"transitional license." Section 76-2217.02 defines a transitional 
license as one to be issued to persons not yet able to meet full 
licensure requirements. Sections 76-2230 ( 3) and ( 4) list the 
necessary qualifications for full licensure, ·but also state that 
"the board, upon request, shall grant a one-year extension of time" 
to complete certain requirements "after issuance of a transitional 
license." Further, S 76-2241 explicitly sets separate fees for 
both licenses and transitional licenses. · 

The legislative history behind the bill which created the 
transitional license, Laws 1991, LB 203, supports the idea that 
licenses and transitional licenses were intended to be separate 
licenses, requiring payment of separate fees, to be issued to 
appraisers with different types of credentials. Senator Chris 
Beutler, Introducer of LB 203, explained the fees applicable to 
transitional licenses: 

[A]ll this amendment does is provide that with regard to 
the transitional license application fee, it sets out 
what the fees will be and those fees are exactly the same 
as the fees for the regular license. No distinction [in 
the amount] was made basically because the transitional 
license, while it's in effect, will empower them to do 
the same thing that a regular license would, so it's like 
a regular license but it's only available during a 
certain time period while they are meeting the 
requirements. 

Floor Debate on LB 203, 92nd Leg., 1st Sess. 3905 (Apr. 24, 1991) 
(statement of Senator Chris Beutler) (emphasis added). 

The Committee on Banking, Commerce and Insurance, during its 
hearing on LB 203, accepted testimony from a proponent who 
suggested amending the portion of LB 203 which defined a 
transitional license and the qualifications necessary to attain 
such a license. This proposal was ineorporated into the bill and 
now appears in S 76-2217.02. During his testimony to the 
Committee, the proponent referred to Advisory 90-2, issued on 
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November 28, 1990, by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal 
Financial Institutions Examination Council. The Appraisal 
Subcommittee is responsible for monitoring state requirements for 
the certification and licensing of individuals who are qualified to 
perform appraisal in connection with federally related 
transactions. 12 U.S.C.A. S 3332(a)(1) (1989). Advisory 90-2 
suggested to the states that a "transitional license valid for a 
strictly limited period of no more than two years could be issued. 
• • • [T]he license • • • should be identified in some manner to 
indicate that it is a transitional license and that it is valid for 
a stated limited period of time and cannot be extended." The 
Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions 
Examination Council, Advisory 90-2 at 3 (Nov. 28, 1990) (emphasis 
added). 

According to the proponent's testimony, once a person 
completes the transitional license requirements, he or she must 
undergo a separate application process to qualify for and attain 
full licensure. 

So if this law passes and in October someone [who lacks 
the requisite hours of experience to qualify for full 
licensure] goes in and applies, the best that the 
Appraisal Board can do is to issue him, under my 
amendment, a transitional license and within that next 
one-year period from the time that [the] transitional 
license is issued he would have to complete • • • the 
necessary hours in order to then qualify for a license. 

Committee on Banking, Commerce and Insurance, Bearing on LB 203 at 
33 (Jan. 29, 1991) (statement of Robert Hallstrom} (emphasis 
added). 

Based on the above-cited statutes and legislative history, we 
believe that the Board is authorized to collect both transitional 
license fees and license fees in the situation you have described, 
as well as require separate applications for each type of license. 
If the Legislature had intended that payment of transitional 
license fees may replace payment of license fees once the 
educational or experience requirements under S 76-2230 are 
completed, the Legislature would have so stated. Principles of 
statutory construction do not allow reading a meaning into a 
statute that is not warranted by the legislative language. Kellogg 
Co. v. Herrington, 216 Neb. 138, 343 N.W.2d 326 (1984); Omaha 
Public Schools v. Ball, 211 Neb. 618, 319 N.W.2d 730 (1982). 
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Therefore, we conclude that the Board is authorized to collect 
both transitional license fees, S 76-2241(15) & (17), and license 
fees, S 76-2241( 8) & ( 10), from any appraiser who wishes to 
transfer from transitional license status to license status, 
whether or not the transitional license has expired. The one-year 
extension of time allowed in § 76-2230 ( 3) and ( 4) to complete 
education or experience requirements for full licensure does not 
imply that one may "roll over" from holding a transitional license 
to a regular license without completing a separate application 
process and paying separate fees. 
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Sincerely, 

DON STENBERG 
Attorney General 

Jan E. Rempe 
Assistant Attorney General 


