
INSTRUCTIONS REGARDING QUARTERLY ESCROW PAYMENT REQUIREMENT 
 
Who is required to make quarterly escrow payments? 
 
A tobacco product manufacturer that is required to make escrow deposits pursuant to Neb. 
Rev. Stat. § 69-2703(2), will be required to make such deposits in quarterly installments 
during the year in which the sales covered by the deposit are made: 
 
 (a) Through the end of the calendar year following the year said tobacco product 
manufacturer is listed in the directory established pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2706, 
 
 (b) if said tobacco product manufacturer is removed from, then subsequently relisted 
in, the directory, then for all periods following the relisting through the end of the calendar 
year following the year the tobacco product manufacturer is relisted in the directory; 
 
 (c) if said tobacco product manufacturer has failed to make a complete and timely 
escrow deposit for any calendar year as required by section 69-2703, or for any quarter as 
required in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2706; or 
 
 (d) if said tobacco product manufacturer has failed to pay any judgment, including any 
civil penalty ordered under § 69-2703 or § 69-2709.  
 
What is the amount of the quarterly deposit required?  
 
 For sales in 2012, the estimated escrow rate, as adjusted for inflation, is $0.0291058 
per stick sold in the preceding quarter.  
 
When must quarterly escrow deposits be made? 
 
 The quarterly deposit must be made on or before thirty (30) days from the last day of 
the calendar quarter.  See below for 2012 deadlines. 
 
First Quarter 2012: January 1 to March 31.  Payment due April 30.  Notice due May 10. 
Second Quarter 2012: April 1 to June 30.  Payment due July 30.  Notice due August 9. 
Third Quarter 2012: July 1 to September 30.  Payment due October 30.  Notice due 
November 9. 
Fourth Quarter 2012: October 1 to December 31.  Payment due January 30, 2013.  Notice 
due February 9, 2013. 
 
NOTE:  If you are required to make escrow deposits in quarterly installments, notices regarding said deposits 
will not be sent.  If the deposit and notice are not received by the Attorney Generals Office by the notice due 
date, the Attorney Generals Office will advise the Nebraska Department of Revenue to post a 30-day notice of 
intent to remove the manufacturer and its brands from the directory. 

 
What information needs to be submitted as proof of the quarterly deposit? 
 
 The manufacturer required to make escrow deposits in quarterly installments shall 
submit written proof of the deposit, such as a copy of the bank deposit slip or bank account 



statement, to the Attorney General’s Office, Attn: Lynne R. Fritz, Assistant Attorney General, 
P.O. Box 98920, Lincoln, NE 68509-8920. 
 
When is proof of deposit due? 
 
 Proof of the quarterly deposit is due within ten (10) days after the quarterly deposit 
deadline. 
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Certificate of Compliance by Non-Participating Manufacturer 
Regarding Quarterly Escrow Payment for the State of Nebraska 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

 
What is the definition of a Tobacco Product Manufacturer? 
 

 Any entity that manufactures cigarettes anywhere that such manufacturer intends 
to be sold in the United States including cigarettes that are intended to be sold in 
the United States through an importer; 

 The first purchaser anywhere for resale in the United Sates of cigarettes 
manufactured anywhere that the manufacturer does not intend to be sold in the 
United States; or, 

 A successor of any entity described above. 
 
Who is required to file this certificate of compliance? 
 

 A tobacco product manufacturer that is required to make escrow deposits 
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2703(2), will be required to make such deposits 
in quarterly installments during the year in which the sales covered by the deposit 
are made: 
 
(a) Through the end of the calendar year following the year said tobacco product 
manufacturer is listed in the directory established pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§ 69-2706, 
 
(b) if said tobacco product manufacturer is removed from, then subsequently 
relisted in, the directory, then for all periods following the relisting through the 
end of the calendar year following the year the tobacco product manufacturer is 
relisted in the directory; 
 
(c) if said tobacco product manufacturer has failed to make a complete and 
timely escrow deposit for any calendar year as required by section 69-2703, or 
for any quarter as required in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2706; or 
 
(d) if said tobacco product manufacturer has failed to pay any judgment, 
including any civil penalty ordered under § 69-2703 or § 69-2709. 

 
 If you satisfy these requirements, you must file this certificate of compliance to 
report cigarettes, including RYO, manufactured by you and sold in the State of 
Nebraska on which Nebraska cigarette excise tax has been collected and pay the 
amount calculated into your qualified escrow fund.  Failure to do so may result in the 
initiation of civil litigation against you for injunctive relief and civil penalties. 
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What is a non-participating manufacturer? 
 
A non-participating manufacturer is any Tobacco Product Manufacturer who has not 
signed onto the MSA . 
 
What is a Qualified Escrow Fund? 
 
A non-participating manufacturer that is required to file this certificate of compliance 
must establish a Qualified Escrow Fund.  This means an escrow arrangement with a 
U.S. federal or U.S. state-chartered financial institution having no affiliation with any 
Tobacco Product Manufacturer and having assets of at least $ 1,000,000,000, where 
such arrangement (1) requires that the financial institution hold the escrowed funds' 
principal separately for the benefit of the State of Nebraska and (2) prohibits the non-
participating manufacturer from using, accessing, or directing the use of the funds' 
principal except as consistent with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2703. 
 
When must I make my escrow payment? 
 
As specified in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2703(2), quarterly escrow payments must be made 
on or before thirty (30) days from the last day of the previous calendar quarter, for total 
units sold during the preceding quarter.   
 
When is this certificate of compliance due? 
 
The non-participating tobacco product manufacturer required to make quarterly escrow 
payments shall submit this certificate along with written proof of the deposit, such as a 
copy of the bank deposit slip or bank account statement, to the Attorney General’s office 
within ten (10) days after the quarterly deposit deadline. 
 

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Part 1:  Manufacturer's Identification.  Write your name, address, telephone and fax 
number. 
 
Part 2:  Calendar Quarter.  The sales year and quarter you are reporting for. 
 
Part 3:  Units Sold.  Write the number of individual cigarettes manufactured by you and 
sold during the calendar quarter in Nebraska on which state excise tax was collected. 
The definition of cigarette includes roll-your-own tobacco.  (Nine hundredths of an 
ounce of roll-your-own tobacco shall constitute one individual cigarette.) 
 
Part 4:  Brands Sold.  Write the names of all brands manufactured by you and sold in 
the State of Nebraska during the calendar quarter. 
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Part 5:  Escrow Rates and Payment.  Multiply the units sold by the statutory rate, with 
the estimated inflation adjustment for the sales year and write the result as your total.   
 
Part 6:  Financial Institution.  Write the name and address of the financial institution 
holding your escrow account.  Include your escrow account number.  Also write the total 
cumulative amount currently in your escrow account held for the benefit of the State of 
Nebraska. 
 
Part 7:  Signature by Authorized Designee.  The person executing the Certificate must 
be an authorized representative of the Tobacco Product Manufacturer identified in 
Part 1.  The Designee’s name and title must be printed and the Certificate must be 
executed in the presence of an authorized notary. 
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Certificate of Compliance by Non-Participating Manufacturer Regarding 
Quarterly Escrow Payment for 2012 Sales 

 
Part 1:  Manufacturer's Identification 
 
Name:  _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Address:  ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone:  _____________________________________ 
 
FAX:  ____________________________________________ 
 
E:mail Address: ________________________________________________________ 
 
Part 2:  Calendar Quarter 
The calendar quarter for this Certificate of Compliance is: ________ quarter, 2012. 
 
Part 3:  Units Sold 
(Cigarettes, including RYO, on which Nebraska cigarette excise tax was collected) 
Number of units sold by the Manufacturer identified above in Nebraska during the 
calendar quarter is as follows:____________________ . 
 
Part 4:  Brands Sold 
List the names of all brands manufactured which were sold in this state during calendar 
quarter: 
______________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Part 5:  Escrow Rates and Payments 
For “units sold” during calendar quarter _____, 2012, the statutory escrow rate of 
$.0188482 per unit sold, as adjusted by an estimated inflation rate pursuant to Exhibit C 
of the MSA, is $0.0291058 per unit sold. 
 
 (a)  Enter the total number from Part 3 here:  ________________________. 
 
 (b)  Multiply that amount by the $0.0291058.   
 
 (c)  Enter the total here:  ________________________________ 
 
 
The total amount on line (c) above must be deposited on or before thirty (30) days after 
the end of the calendar quarter. 
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Note:  A copy of the bank receipt or other proof of deposit from the financial institution 
must be attached to verify the amount of the escrow deposit. 
 
Part 6:  Financial Institution 
 
Name of Institution:______________________________________________________ 
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Escrow Account No: _____________________________________________________ 
 
Cumulative total amount held in this account for the State of Nebraska for all years:  
______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Part 7:  Signature 
 
Under penalty of perjury, I state that all of the information contained in this Certificate of 
Compliance is true and accurate.  This Certificate of Compliance must also be signed 
and dated by an authorized notary public. 
 
Name of Authorized Designee: _____________________________  
Title: __________________________________________________ 
Signature of Authorized Designee: __________________________  
Date: ________________________ 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me on this date:  ________________________ 
Signature of Notary Public:  _________________________________________ 
City or County of__________________________________________________ 
My Commission expires:  ___________________________________________ 
 
Mail this Certificate of Compliance to: 
Office of the Nebraska Attorney General 
2115 State Capitol  
P.O. Box 98920 
Lincoln, NE 68509-8920 
Attn: Lynne R. Fritz 
 
January 2012 
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